To celebrate my Godson’s birthday today I made up a project I’d been thinking of for some time. A soft toy elephant in his favourite colour.

I found the pattern a little while ago on the Sew Daily site, in their free e-book section. They have some of the cutest projects that are so easy to make and so much fun. Worth a visit when you’ve got a few minutes. http://www.sewdaily.com/free-sewing-patterns-for-kids/

Today I used some yellow jersey knit and animal print cotton to create his birthday present. (Materials from Spotlight and Big W) I didn’t need much to be honest, so this is a perfect project to use up some of those odd scraps that are left over.

After ironing out the creases in the cotton I cut out my pieces to start this new journey.Β  Please forgive the choice of pins, somehow my pearl top pins have grown legs and wandered off.

Starting point

The included instructions are very easy to follow, and all up this project took less than an hour to complete.

I modified the original pattern in two ways…I omitted the ribbons around the ears (though this would be great for younger children & babies) and used different material that I had on hand. Next time I’ll make it according to instructions, just for something different.

Hope you’ve enjoyed this little tutorial, and if you also make up this pattern, or any of the other three included in the free e-book, please share your pictures, as I’d love to see what you create.

Starting to come together_MG_2719 _MG_2722

 

