Ok I’ll admit it…I am a girly girl. I love playing with my hair and changing the colour of it as often as I (safely) can…same with nail polish, fingers and toes, and I love pampering myself with body scrubs, body butter, moisturisers, creams, lotions & potions. No shame in admitting any of that.

BUT….

It does add up and become rather expensive over time.

This year is the first year I’ve actually believed I can DIY the majority of our presents for our friends & family…and the bonus is, those that are easy and affordable go into the running for our Welcome Wagon packs for our travelling guests next year at our Wedding!! 😀

And being a girly girl, how could I possibly go past the opportunity to pamper myself, make some great pampering gifts and save $$$$ all at the same time? Well, truth be told, I just couldn’t!

So….I’ve made up my own Sugar Body Scrub, which I sampled last night with myself as the crash test dummy, and some Bath Salts. Ahhh, bliss.

These tick all the boxes…quick, easy, cute, affordable and useful.

For my Sugar Body Scrub I used:

2 Tablespoons of Raw Sugar (can replace with White or Brown depending on personal choice)

1 Tablespoon of Olive Oil (again, your choice of Olive, Coconut or Almond Oil)

10 Drops of Essential Oil OR 6 Drops of Fragrance Oil (for calming use Lavendar or a stress relief blend; energy use Peppermint or Lemon)

3 Drops of Food Dye/Colouring

Blend together and store in an airtight container. Should last up to 3 months.

(My jars are 300ml so I multiplied the above recipe to suit…ALWAYS keep the 2:1 ratio between Sugar & Oil)

With my Sugar Body Scrub being a Green Apple fragrance, I used only 3 small drops/drips to colour.

 

For my Bath Salts I used:

1 cup of Cooking Salt (can replace with Rock or Sea Salt if you choose)

1/2 cup of Epsom Salts

10 Drops of Essential Oil OR 6 Drops of Fragrance Oil to suit

2-3 drops of Food Dye/Colouring

I made the Bath Salts with a relaxing, stress relieving blend of Essential Oils and added only 2 drops of food dye.

_MG_2922

Can think of a number of ways to package and give these little darlings to the people I care about. There certainly is more joy in giving than receiving…at least for me there is!

 

